This Little Monkey (A Modern Baby Shower for a Little Miss)

June 13, 2010 at 4:18 am (Uncategorized)

Hello my fellow party animals! I’m back to once again make good on a promise. As you might recall, I’ve dubbed June “Wedding Month” (for obvious reasons), but spring and summer are not just for the brides. They are for future mommies too!

As I said in my last post, my friend and coworker just recently found out she’s having a baby girl! She asked me to come up with some ideas for her baby shower this August. Will I??? Of course I will! What did I come up with? I think a modern pink and brown MONKEY theme might be perfect for the new bebe.

Theme: This Little Monkey (A Modern Baby Shower for New Baby Girl!)

Color Palette: Pink and Brown with hints of Green…and MONKEYS!

Guests: about 40

Attire: Casual Chic


Top Row: brown monkey invite (ajwrappers.com); pink and green lanterns (www.save-on-crafts.com); pink chocolate-dipped marshmallows (my friend makes these!); peonies in apothecary jars (homegoods for jars)
Second Row: custom banners (www.etsy.com); table-scape; monkey candybar wrappers (ajwrappers.com)
Third Row: herb centerpieces; monkey foil balloons (www.birthdayexpress.com)
Last Row: Cowgirl Cookies (www.bakerella.com); pink and green hydrangea centerpiece; monkey kisses (ajwrappers.com); mint dessert spoons

Hopefully by now, you all know my first step when coming up with a party idea. I get to know my guest of honor. As I noted in my previous post, sometimes she and I differ in decor taste. I would hold that neither of us has “bad” taste, it’s just different. But this shower is not about me, it’s about her and her new addition! I talked to her briefly about what she thought she might like for her shower. She seemed to really like the pink and brown color scheme (I added the touch of green for some depth) and she was into a whole host of baby paraphernalia and animals. There was also a slew of baby items and animals that were on her “absolutely not” list. The “don’t” list included pacifiers, diapers, and sonogram pictures (I wouldn’t have done that anyway…it’s icky).  On the “do” list were onsies, duckies, rattles, diaper pins, and yes…monkeys. She also showed me pictures of some invites she might like. Most had a very clean, modern, minimalist look. I took those pieces of information (and my previous knowledge of her love for making home made items like marshmallows and pickles, and tendencies toward urban uniqueness) and came up with my little shower theme.

Let’s start with the invites. I’ve chosen an invite that’s very similar to some that she’d shown me, but incorporated my monkey theme. The best part is that AJ Wrappers has the candy bar wrapper and Hershey kiss stickers to match! And they’re customized! I also found some foil monkey balloons to tie in the monkey theme. Just remember, that A FEW foil balloons go a LONG way. Too many balloons (particularly Mylar) can get circus-y…and not in a good way.

Pink Pom Poms

Even though a few balloons go a long way, I do love when decorations draw the eye up. An excellent way to bring the party right to the ceiling is by adding white string lights, paper pom-poms (to the right) from martha stewart, and paper lanterns. Save-on-crafts.com sells these lanterns in a variety of  different sizes and colors, all for a reasonable price. This really brings the room together.

My friend really has an eye for detail. For her, I really love the table scape in the center of the inspiration board. The green apple place card holder idea is so cute! What I wasn’t thrilled about on the table was the centerpiece. Tulips are very spring, and my friend’s shower is going to be in the summer. I’d opt to switch out the tulip/grass combo for a green and pink hydrangea number with a large banana leaf (get it?…monkey…banana) lining the inside of the glass vase. I’m also in love with the pink peonies (or what I think are peonies…Liza? A little help?) “trapped” in the apothecary jars. Notice that the third row on the left has some bunched herbs flowing out of jelly jars for an aromatic pop of green on the table. Snip a little of that mint off and tie it around the dessert spoons (as shown in the bottom right of the board) and you’ve got touches of detail everywhere!

I thought a dessert table would be really great for the shower. It seems that the little miss-to-be really likes chocolate chip cookies, so why not give her an entire “bar” of sweet treats? I found the customizable banner from etsy.com. You can have it say whatever you want and place that above your table of goodies to tie in your theme. My friend is also super into the “urban homesteading” movement. She loves making things from scratch, jarring he own jams, making her own pickles, etc. etc. She makes her own marshmallows! How cute are the pink, chocolate-dipped mallows above? You can skewer them with lollipop sticks (available at craft stores) and shove them in Styrofoam (wrapped in fabric of course) for display. You can also display different chocolates, candies, lollipops, macaroons, and cakes on pretty trays and in apothecary jars and set them out on the table. In keeping with the urban homestead theme, I love the idea displayed on the board as the “cowgirl cookies.” The idea behind this was to take some of the main dry ingredients for your favorite cookie and layer them in a decorative jar to hand out as favors. How ingenious!

Onsie Cookies from Sabrina's Sweetery

Lastly, no party can be complete without a little personal touch. My momma-to-be has a friend in California who opened her own cookie business. I’m just wild about the precision and detail work in these cookies! My friend is crazy about the pink onsie cookies to the left. Maybe Sabrina’s Sweetery can make some pink monkeys for the shower! Hopefully she’ll ship out of state!

That’s about it for baby shower time! Back on to weddings next time!

In the meantime, if any of you have some pictures from a great party you threw or attended…I want to know! I’d love to showcase it! Email me at drumrolleventsdc@gmail.com. Party on!

8 Comments

  1. lyndariv said,

    who do we know is having a little girl? i want to see this!

  2. Clare said,

    LOVE THIS!! I think my favorite element is the little onsie cookies. So flippin cute. Along those lines, I once went to a shower where they had a little station where all the guests decorated white bibs and onsies (in different sizes) using fabric markers. It was a fun activity and the guys even got into it. Whenever I see the baby she seems to be wearing either one of the onsies or a bib.

    This was the same shower where someone asked me how far along I was (I was not pregnant) , but that’s another story…..

  3. gs said,

    hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise several technical points using this web site, as I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my
    e-mail and could look out for a lot more of
    your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again soon.

  4. fast weight loss diet plan said,

    I’ll right away grab your rss feed as I can’t find your email subscription link or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Please let me know so that I could subscribe. Thanks. lose weight effectively

  5. diagnostic medical sonographer schools said,

    I’m not certain the place you’re getting your info, but good topic.
    I must spend a while learning more or figuring out more.
    Thank you for fantastic info I was on the lookout for this info for my mission.

  6. http://www.mushik.net/ said,

    It’s rarely that I do comment on internet sites and blogs, but after I read through your comment on This Little Monkey (A Modern Baby Shower for a Little Miss) Drumroll Please.! I only couldn’t keep myself from not stepping in.
    Is it me though or do these comments seem like
    they were made by people who were born brain
    damaged? If you do publish your stuff on other internet sites and blogs, Facebook, MySpace and
    so forth, I’d definitely appreciate you giving me a link with your profile.

  7. iphone 32gb said,

    Hello, I just dropped by to review this blog. It is really interesting and I enjoyed viewing it, thank you
    for the good writing!

  8. Juegos Online said,

    Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or
    maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My website goes
    over a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could
    greatly benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by
    the way!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

